Department of Mechanical Engineering is one of the seven Engineering Departments of the Institute of Engineering. The department was born in the year 1975 with the establishment of Certificate Level Program in Refrigeration and Air Conditioning under International Labour Organization funded project, although at that time it co-existed under administrative unit named ERA (Electronics, Radio-electronics and Air Conditioning and Refrigeration). The three ‘Section’, as were called at that period, offered only certificate level courses of two years duration. The programs were later reviewed and upgraded to Diploma status with the addition of one more academic year.

The Diploma programs continued for some time under the same administrative structure of ERA till the three sections grew into the Electrical, Electronics, and Mechanical departments. The three departments offered only Diploma program for some years while preparation continued to enable them to start Bachelor of Engineering (BE).

As the expertise, confidence, and international exposure of the faculty and staff grew, the focus shifted naturally to the establishment of the Bachelors Program. The Engineering Education Project, provided the required impetus to Training, Curriculum Development, Infrastructure Development, and the establishment of the required laboratories and workshops with the assistance of the World Bank, Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) and Swiss Development Cooperation (SDC).

The Department of Mechanical Engineering started the Bachelors program in the year 1995 at the central campus, called the Pulchowk Campus, in Kathmandu Valley.

At about the same time, it was decided to relocate the diploma programs to the Thapathali, Dharan, and Pokhara campuses and develop the Pulchowk Campus as the campus for Bachelor and higher Degree Programs. Under the framework of this policy, the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the Pulchowk Campus currently offers only the BE programs in Mechanical Engineering.

The department moved to its own building, the D-Block, on the north side of the Campus in 1998. With the new facilities, modern equipment suitable for training and research, experienced faculty members, and increased autonomy to handle Training, Research and Consulting works, the department is poised to make its presence felt within and outside of the country.

The Department currently runs Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering, Masters of Science in Renewable Energy Engineering, Masters of Science in Technology Innovation and Management, Masters of Science in Energy Systems Planning and Management, and Masters of Science in Mechanical Systems Design and Engineering.

See Academic Programs.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering can be described in the following points:

  1. Founded in 1996, with a Bachelor’s in Mechanical Engineering program.
  2. Graduates are working and studying across the country and aboard.
  3. Many graduates are in middle management position in various governmental and non-governmental organizations/industries.
  4. Currently, successfully running 3 master degree programs:
    • Master of Science in Renewable Energy Engineering (since 2001)
    • Master of Science in Technology Innovation and Management (since 2009)
    • Master of Science in Energy Systems Planning and Management (since 2012).
    • Master of Science in Mechanical Systems Design and Engineering (since 2017)
  5. Nine students currently pursing PhD. One PhD degree already granted.
  6. Highly qualified faculties graduated and specialised from reputed universities worldwide.

The department has twenty years of experience in teaching and core research, with highly published faculties with continuing projects.

This website has routinely updated contents of department’s activities, curriculum of its B.E. and M.Sc. programs and other relevant information, courses routines of every semester, information on faculties and research, publications, etc.

The department has the following annual enrollment quotas:

Program No. Of Students/Year
B.E. Mechanical Engineering (4 yr program) 48
B.E. Aerospace Engineering (4 yr program) 48
M.Sc. Renewable Energy Engineering (2 yr program) 20
M.Sc. Energy Systems Planning and Management (2 yr program) 20
M.Sc. Technology, Innovation and Management (2 yr program) 20
M.Sc. Mechanical Systems Design and Engineering (2 yr program) 20
Total 176